Dismiss Notice
Welcome to IDF- Indian Defence Forum , register for free to join this friendly community of defence enthusiastic from around the world. Make your opinion heard and appreciated.

59 trainee CoBRA commandos 'bunk' duty in Bihar

Discussion in 'Indian Army' started by lca-fan, Feb 6, 2017.

  1. lca-fan

    lca-fan Major SENIOR MEMBER

    Sep 9, 2015
    Likes Received:
    Country Flag:
    Trainee CoBRA commandos 'bunk' duty; CRPF orders inquiry
    Mon, 6 Feb 2017-03:17pm , PTI

    In an unusual case of 'mass bunking' being confronted by the CRPF, 59 trainee commandos of its elite jungle warfare and counter-Naxal squad CoBRA have gone missing from a train just before they were to report for duty in the Left Wing Extremism-hit theatre of Bihar as part of their first deployment.

    The incident occurred yesterday at the Mughalsarai Station when the commandos, on way from their training centre in Jammu and Kashmir's Srinagar after their 5-week basic training, apparently decided to abandon their forward journey and leave en masse to go to their homes or some undisclosed location.

    Officials said the jawans also did not inform their contingent commander on board the train as they made their daring escape bid in the night.

    Shocked by the utter disregard to rules by these constable-rank jawans recruited in the country's largest paramilitary in 2011, the Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) has ordered for a Court of Inquiry into the incident, termed as a case of "unauthorised absence" by the force.

    Senior officials of the Commando Battalion for Resolute Action (CoBRA) and CRPF said the jawans were scheduled to report at the headquarters of the 205th CoBRA unit in Gaya in Bihar today for their onward deployment for conducting special anti-Naxal operations in Bihar.

    "A full Inquiry has been ordered by the force headquarters in Delhi. The trainers and the havildar who was accompanying these commandos have got in touch with some of those who vanished from the train without informing seniors.

    Some have promised to report by tomorrow," senior officials told


    Mass desertion: 59 CoBRA commandos desert CRPF
    By Rakesh K Singh | Express News Service | Published: 06th February 2017 01:35 PM |

    Last Updated: 06th February 2017 03:40 PM | A+A A- |

    File photo of women CRPF personnel.

    NEW DELHI: In what clearly reflects badly on the top CRPF leadership led by outgoing Director General K Durga Prasad, about five dozen trained commandos of the elite anti-Naxal Force Combat Battalion for Resolute Action (CoBRA) have deserted the paramilitary en masse earlier this month. This is the first mass desertion of highly trained commandos from the world’s biggest paramilitary that is designated the lead counter-insurgency and anti-terrorist Force.

    To be precise, 59 CoBRA commandos deserted the Force while they were en route to Gaya (Bihar) for deployment with 205 CoBRA Battalion on February 2. The CRPF on Sunday (February 5) concluded that they have deserted and the message has been circulated to all the formations of the paramilitary in the country.

    “Following 59 Constables of Counter Guerilla team of this battalion who were coming back from RTC (Recruit Training Centre), Srinagar after completion of their basic training under command No. 095000498 HC/GD Vijay Singh became deserter from the train,” reads the communication circulated to all the CRPF formations through the internal communication network of CRPF dated February 5.

    “According to HC/GD (Head Constable/General Duty or Operational Duty) Vijay Singh, he along with these Constables were boarded Train No. 13152 Jammu Siyaldah Express from Jammu Railway Station for Gaya Junction on 02/02/2017 at about 1855 hrs. On the way of Gaya, these Constables deserted from the train without the permission of competent authority,” the internal communication further said.

    Sources said the deserters badly hit Head Constable Vijay Singh who was escorting them to Gaya before fleeing. The deserters also left behind their trunks. According to inputs with the CRPF, the commandos fled from Mughalsarai (Uttar Pradesh) Railway Station.

    While the Basic Training Course entails nine months of training at the RTC, these commandos were trained for six months as they had earlier served in the field.

    An official from RTC, Srinagar confirmed the development but sought to downplay the incident saying it was more of an emotional issue as they wished to visit their native place since they were stranded in Srinagar for about a week due snowfall after their training was complete. The official also hoped that they will return in the next few days even as the deserters remain untraceable.

    “It is all happening due to lack of regimentation in the CRPF. Media never talks about the command problems being faced by officers and their welfare…Media is concerned with shortage of officers in Army only as they are ignorant about Central paramilitary forces,” another official said on condition of anonymity.

    CRPF DG K Durga Prasad did not respond to messages from the Express.

    Here is the list-

    1. Manish Kumar
    2. Nagendra Kumar
    3. Satyendra Kumar
    4. Mukesh Kumar
    5. Ajay Kumar
    6. Ravish Kumar
    7. Sandeep Kumar
    8. Ranjeet Kumar
    9. Subhash Kumar
    10. Lalu Kumar
    11. Navin Kumar
    12. Alok Abhishek
    13. Satyendra Kumar
    14. Amit Kumar
    15. Vimlesh Kumar
    16. Digamber Singh
    17. Prakash Mandal
    18. Chandan Kumar
    19. Manish Kumar
    20. Sanjeet Kumar
    21. Avishek Kumar
    22. Jitender Kumar
    23. Gauri Shankar Kr
    24. Vivek Kumar
    25. Santosh Kr. Gupta
    26. Sonu Kumar Singh
    27. Raj Kishore Kumar
    28. Raj Kumar Rai
    29. Om Prakash Yadav
    30. Prakash Chand
    31. Jitender Kumar
    32. Guddu Kumar
    33. Sunil Kumar Sharma
    34. Prem Kumar
    35. Gd Prince Kr. Vidyarathi
    36. Sanjay Yadav
    37. Rakesh Kr
    38. Raju Kumar
    39. Pramod Kumar
    40. Pradeep Kumar
    41. Rakesh Kumar
    42. Deepak Kumar
    43. Sunil Kumar
    44. Ajit Kr
    45. Md. Ijaz Ahmed Ansari
    46. Mithun Kr Goswami
    47. Pawan Kumar
    48. Manjeet Kumar
    49. Kamlesh Kumar
    50. Ravishankar Kr.
    51. Jai Kishore
    52. Mantu Kumar
    53. Jitender Kumar
    54. Anil Kumar
    55. Satish Kr Choudary
    56. Alok Kr Bharti
    57. Ranvir Singh
    58. Rupesh Kumar
    59. Dharmendra Kr
  2. ghost4551

    ghost4551 IDF NewBie

    Feb 7, 2017
    Likes Received:
    Country Flag:
  3. AbRaj

    AbRaj Captain FULL MEMBER

    Oct 30, 2016
    Likes Received:
    Country Flag:
    370HSSV 0773H

Share This Page