Dismiss Notice
Welcome to IDF- Indian Defence Forum , register for free to join this friendly community of defence enthusiastic from around the world. Make your opinion heard and appreciated.

A thread seeking educational/career advice.

Discussion in 'Education & Research' started by A_poster, Jul 27, 2017.

1. A_poster

A_poster Captain FULL MEMBER

Country Flag:
    India
    Hi,

I am thinking of doing M.Tech (Mechanical engineering) with aim of getting a decent paying job in one of these fields:

(1) Defence.
    (2) Space Tech.
    (3) Artificial intelligence and robotics.
    (4) Nanotechnology or Biotech.

Doing major from which subject (Thermal,Design,Production) would be beneficial for me? Are there even jobs available in these fields in India? Are there private jobs available (I am eligible for ISRO, but not for DRDO as I have crossed age limit for DRDO exams)?

And finally, Should I even try for M.Tech/Technical fields? I was an average student in Engineering (never failing,but also not been a university topper) from a good government college (not IIT), but I also was competent in multiple disciplines -History,Polity/constitutional law,Economy,Psychology etc, which I think would be of no use in Engineering. I am also concerned about prospects after doing M.Tech as research is not big in India.

Last edited: Jul 27, 2017
    Dagger likes this.
  2. A_poster

Country Flag:
    India
  3. A_poster

Country Flag:
    India
  4. Golden_Rule

Golden_Rule Lieutenant FULL MEMBER

First and foremost, you should know your passion. This will keep you happily engaged in what you do for a very long time.