Dismiss Notice
Welcome to IDF- Indian Defence Forum , register for free to join this friendly community of defence enthusiastic from around the world. Make your opinion heard and appreciated.

Lok Sabha polls: BJP releases first list of 54 candidates

Discussion in 'International Politics' started by Marqueur, Feb 27, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Marqueur

    Marqueur Peaceful Silence ELITE MEMBER

    Nov 29, 2011
    Likes Received:
    Country Flag:
    While 16 candidates have been cleared from Maharashtra, 17 candidates have been cleared from West Bengal. Two candidates each from Arunachal Pradesh, Goa and Manipur and six from Odisha has been finalised. Three candidates have been named from Himachal Pradesh and five from J&K. In all 54 candidates have been zeroed in.

    Former BJP president Nitin Gadkari has been fielded from Nagpur, Gopinath Munde from Beed, Dilip Gandhi from Ahmadnagar, Kirit Somaiya from Mumbai North East and Gopal Shetty from Mumbai North. Interestingly BJP has never won from Nagpur. In HP Shanta Kumar has been fielded from Kangra and Anurag Thakur, sitting MP, from Hamirpur.

    The party has nominated two Muslim candidates in Jammu and Kashmir, Gulam Mohammad Mir in Baramulla and Mushtaq Ahmad Malik Nurabadi in Anantnag constituencies.

    BJP's top leadership met today at a meeting of its Central Election Committee. Senior party leaders LK Advani, Rajnath Singh, Narendra Modi, Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj and Murli Manohar Joshi among others attended the meet.

    Narendra Modi is BJP's PM candidate for the Lok Sabha polls. The polls are speculated to be held in April and May, with the new government expected to be formed in May.

    However, no announcement was made as to where Modi will contest from. Reports have been doing the rounds that he may contest from either Varanasi or Lucknow constituency. To be noted is the fact that senior BJP leader Murli Manohar Joshi won from Varanasi from 2009.

    Meanwhile, in a significant development, BJP and LJP alliance was finalised today evening. Addressing the press at his home BJP president Rajnath Singh said that the BJP had decided to give 7 out of 40 seats in Bihar for the Lok Sabha polls. On his part Lok Janshakti Party chief Ram Vilas Paswan said that Modi was NDA's PM candidate and that it was a question which need not be put to him again.

    Paswan also said that the NDA was like a family and hoped that the alliance would form the next government at the Centre. LJP was part of the NDA camp during Atal Bihari Vajpayee's regime. He quit the NDA a month or so after the 2002 Gujarat riots.

    Earlier, LJP was in talks with Lalu Prasad Yadav's RJD and the Congress for an alliance in Bihar. However, the talks did not materialise because the LJP was reportedly unhappy about the number of seats that has been offered to it in Bihar by both the parties.

    Lok Sabha polls: BJP releases first list of 54 candidates
  2. Marqueur

    Marqueur Peaceful Silence ELITE MEMBER

    Nov 29, 2011
    Likes Received:
    Country Flag:
    The Central Election Committee of the Bharatiya Janata Party met today under the Presidentship of Shri Rajnath Singh.

    Meeting was attended by Shri L.K. Advani, Chairman, BJP Parliamentary Party, Smt. Sushma Swaraj, Leader of Opposition (Lok Sabha), Shri Arun Jaitley, Leader of Opposition (Rajya Sabha) and all the members of the Central Election Committee of the BJP.

    The Committee has decided the following names for the ensuing Lok Sabha Elections 2014 of different States.
    Sl. Name of State -- Constituency No. & Name -- Name of Candidate
    1. Arunachal Pradesh -- 1-- Arunachal West-- Shri Kiren Rijijuji, Ex-MP
    2. Arunachal Pradesh-- 2-- Arunachal East-- Shri Tapir Gao, Ex-MP
    3. Manipur -- 1-- Inner Manipur-- Dr. R.K. Ranjan Singh
    4. Manipur-- 2-- Outer Manipur (ST)-- Prof. Gangmumei Kamei
    5. Goa 1-- North Goa-- Shri Shripad Yesso Naik, Sitting MP
    6. Goa 2 -- South Goa -- Shri Narendra Keshav Sawaikar, State General Secretary
    7. West Bengal-- 1-- Cooch Behar (SC)-- Shri Hemchandra Burman,
    District President
    8. West Bengal-- 3-- Jalpaiguri (SC)-- Shri Satyalal Sarkar, Ex-DIG, SSB
    9. West Bengal-- 6-- Balurghat-- Shri Biswapriya Roychowdhary
    State General Secretary
    10. West Bengal-- 7-- Maldaha Uttar-- Shri Subashkrishna Goswami
    Elected Block Member
    11. West Bengal-- 9-- Jangipur-- Shri Samrat Ghosh, District General Secretary
    12. West Bengal 11 Murshidabad Shri Sujit Kumar Ghosh, Retd. IPS
    13. West Bengal 12 Krishnanagar Shri Satyabrata Mukherjee, Ex-MP & Central Minister
    14. West Bengal 13 Ranaghat (SC) Dr. Supravat Biswas, National Executive Member
    15. West Bengal 16 Dum Dum Shri Tapan Sikdar, Ex-MP & Central Minister
    16. West Bengal 17 Barasat Shri P.C. Sarkar (Jr.), World Famous Magician
    17. West Bengal 20 Mathurapur (SC) Shri Tapan Naskar, District General Secretary
    18. West Bengal 21 Diamond Harbour Shri Avijit Das, State BJYM Member
    19. West Bengal 23 Kolkata Dakshin Shri Tathagata Roy, Ex State President
    20. West Bengal 24 Kolkata Uttar Shri Rahul Sinha, State President
    21. West Bengal 25 Howrah Shri George Baker, Film Actor (Christian Minority)
    22. West Bengal 26 Uluberia Shri R.K. Mahanti, Retd. IPS
    23. West Bengal 36 Bankura Dr. Subash Sarkar, State Vice President
    24. Odisha 2 Sundargarh (ST) Shri Jual Oram, Former Minister
    25. Odisha 3 Sambalpur Shri Suresh Pujari, State Gen. Secy., and Ex-State President
    26. Odisha 9 Dhenkanal Shri Rudra Narayan Pani, Ex-MP (Rajya Sabha)
    27. Odisha 10 Bolangir Smt. Sangeeta Kumari Singh Deo,
    28. Odisha 12 Nabarangpur (ST) Shri Parsuram Majhi, State Vice President and Ex-MP
    29. Odisha 16 Jagatsinghpur (SC) Shri Baidhar Mallik, Ex-MLA
    30. Maharashtra 2 Dhule Dr. Subhash Bhamre, Famous Cancer Surgeon
    31. Maharashtra 3 Jalgaon Shri Ashok Tapiram Patil, (A.T. Nana Patil), Sitting MP
    32. Maharashtra 4 Raver Shri Haribhau Javle, Sitting MP
    33. Maharashtra 6 Akola Shri Sanjya Dhotre, Sitting MP
    34. Maharashtra 10 Nagpur Shri Nitin Gadkari, Ex-National President
    35. Maharashtra 11 Bhandara - Gondiya Shri Nana Patole, Sitting MLA
    36. Maharashtra 12 Gadchiroli-Chimur (ST) Shri Ashok Nete, State President, ST Morcha
    37. Maharashtra 13 Chandrapur Shri Hansraj Ahir, Sitting MP
    38. Maharashtra 16 Nanded Shri D.B. Patil, Ex-MP
    39. Maharashtra 18 Jalna Shri Ravsaheb Danve Patil, Sitting MP
    40. Maharashtra 20 Dindori (ST) Shri Harishchandra Chowhan, Sitting MP
    41. Maharashtra 22 Palghar (ST) Ad. Chintaman Vanga, Sitting MLA & Ex-MP
    42. Maharashtra 26 Mumbai North Shri Gopal Shetti, Sitting MLA
    43. Maharashtra 28 Mumbai North East Dr. Kirit Somaiya, Ex-MP
    44. Maharashtra 37 Ahmadnagar Shri Dilip Gandhi, Sitting MP
    45. Maharashtra 39 Beed Shri Gopinath Munde, Dy. Leader of Opposition, Lok Sabha
    46. Maharashtra 44 Sangli Shri Sanjaykaka Patil, Ex-MLA
    47. Himachal Pradesh 1 Kangra Shri Shanta Kumar, Ex-CM and Ex-Minister
    48. Himachal Pradesh 3 Hamirpur Shri Anurag Thakur, Sitting MP and National President BJYM
    49. Himachal Pradesh 4 Shimla (SC) Shri Virendra Kashyap, Sitting MP
    50. Jammu & Kashmir 1 Baramulla Shri Gulam Mohammad Meer,
    51. Jammu & Kashmir 3 Anantnag Mushtaq Ahmad Malik, Nurabadi
    52. Jammu & Kashmir 4 Ladakh Shri Thunpsthan Chhewang, National Executive Member
    53. Jammu & Kashmir 5 Udhampur Dr. Jitendra Singh, National Executive Member & State Spokesperson
    54. Jammu & Kashmir 6 Jammu Shri Jugal Kishore Sharma, State President

    (Thawarchand Gehlot)

    National General Secretary, BJP

    Press : Ist List of Candidate for Lok Sabha Election 2014
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2014
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page